NaBloPoMo · Writing Events

Disaster Dish!

NaBloPoMo February 2015

Today is the 5th of February and once again there is another prompt to help me write my post for today. The prompt for today is “Tell us about a dish you attempted to make that ended in disaster. Have you ever re-attempted the meal?”.

There has been many dishes I have tried to create and have been disasters. There was one when I was back in school; I was probably only 12 or 13 years old. Our task was to make a “Swiss Roll”; I followed the recipe to the T. However; it seems that I did not! Mum is a organised cupboard person and she has everything labelled in boxes. I need a pinch of salt. I thought that I would use some from home; save using the school stash. I put it in a small box along with ‘Baking Power’. It was not baking powder; it was cornflower. Mum had not re-labelled the baking powder. I did not know this until the teacher tried some of the Roll. Her face horrified me!

I have not attempted Swiss Roll since that day…

Leave a Reply

